A Beastie is Born

Each day I draw a beastie and post it on my blog: beasties.tumblr.com. I have been doing this since May 2008 and have not yet missed a day. I draw on Stonehenge paper with a MICRON 005 or 01 black pen. The drawings are organic, I start with a basic idea: fat, thin, facing left or right and then, I just see what evolves. Often they are completely different from what I expected! I never redraw or start over and always draw directly in ink. Whatever evolves has to be made to work. Once I have an outline, I start to fill in with a pattern. Some kind of landscape is also drawn in.

An outline is drawn

An outline is drawn

An eye is drawn and the body divided for a progression of patterns

An eye is drawn and the body divided for a progression of patterns

Drawing in the patterns

Drawing in the patterns

Almost complete

Almost complete

5 g 2 and his trusty friend mouse are ready to face the world!

5 g 2 and his trusty friend mouse are ready to face the world!

Leave a Reply

