Now for the fun.. The Beastie Book

I have just begun drawing in the long stitch book I bound with the first lot of sink art paper I made. This is paper that I made by putting Sumi ink on a watercolor paper, letting it partially dry and then washing it off. Color wash was then sprayed on to the wet paper.  My intention is to fill the book with beasties, I expect this will take the rest of the year! See earlier postings for more details. If you like these beasties please check out my other blog: beasties.tumblr.com

For a long time now, I have wanted to draw my beasties on a colored background, an organic background, not flat color. My sink art paper is perfect for them. The Arches 90lb paper is very absorbent, so it is quite a different experience from drawing on the Stonehenge paper that I use for my blog. The drawing is also somewhat complicated as the book is already bound, but is very manageable. Keep checking in and I will post my progress. The beasties will link from page to page through out the book.

The first beastie takes shape

the first beastie takes shape

starting the pattern

detail of the head

going back a spread to add the hind quarters and tail. it all matches up!

going back a spread to add the hind quarters and tail. it all matches up!

Leave a Reply

