Printing Beastie Cards on the Vandercook

The following images will give you a visual idea as to how letterpress printing is done on a flat bed proofing press.  This  press is a Vandercook 20 Rigid Bed Roller Series Proofing Press. I print at the Baird Center in South Orange, NJ. I print on Stonehenge paper. When I have finished printing, I pull lots of proofs on scraps of newsprint, with out inking up the plates. This is a great way to get the excess ink off the plates. The plates are then cleaned with cooking oil. I leave a thin coat of oil on the plates and then store them in air tight zip lock plastic bags. The ink is scraped off the inking plates using a palate knife, I  then clean evrything with cooking oil, using paper towels to wipe away the ink.  BeastlyBeastie cards and prints can be found on my Etsy site. Thanks for looking.

Vandercook 20 Rigid Bed Roller Series Proofing Press

Vandercook 20 Rigid Bed Roller Series Proofing Press

the rollers have been inked

the rollers have been inked

ink is on the second inking plate waiting to be rolled and spread

ink is on the second inking plate waiting to be rolled and spread. This press as an inking plate at each end

locking in the magnesium plate and checking for position

locking in the magnesium plate and checking for position

locking in the two plates and checking for position

locking in the two plates and checking for position

magnesium plates mounted on wood are locked in to position using furniture

magnesium plates mounted on wood are locked in to position using furniture

using a print out of the image to check that the positioning is good

using a print out of the image to check that the positioning is good

a piece of newsprint the same size as the paper to be printed on is placed in position on the plates and the drum is rolled across until it grabs the paper.

a piece of newsprint the same size as the paper to be printed on is placed in position on the plates and the drum is rolled across until it grabs the paper

tape is placed on the drum to mark where the paper should sit

tape is placed on the drum to mark where the paper should sit

the plate is not inking up evenly. Small pieces of paper are put under the plate to raise the areas that are not inking.

the plate is not inking up evenly. Small pieces of paper are put under the plate to raise the areas that are not inking

a proof is pulled on the newsprint. Any needed adjustments are made before printing on the good paper.

a proof is pulled on the newsprint. Any needed adjustments are made before printing on the good paper

a mock up I made from proofs to help with positioning.

a mock up I made from proofs to help with positioning

masking tape is used to mark the four corners whers the paper should sit.

masking tape is used to mark the four corners where the paper should sit

a proofon newsprint. I have folded it to double check that my positioning of the logo is good.

a proof on newsprint. I have folded it to double check that my positioning of the logo is good

prints drying

prints drying

printing fea

printing fea

fea drying

fea drying

2 responses to “Printing Beastie Cards on the Vandercook

  1. We are looking at purchasing a Vandercook model 1 for card and stationary printing. Do you have any experience with this model? What model do you use? Any advice?

    Thank you
    Kent

  2. Hi Kent, Thanks for your e mail. I have only used the Vandercook 20 rigid bed roller series proofing press from 1915. We have one at our local arts center. I see the #1 has registration for multicolor jobs which I would definitely advise. The one I use is only good for one color and has pretty worn inking rollers so can be a challenge at times. I like it though! It is a lot slower than a press with a fly wheel. So production is fairly slow. I have been using a rubber based ink that I like… I can clean up with cooking oil, the ink does not smell and no nasty silvents. I use Owasso for my plates, they are very good. Good luck with your purchase, I would love to hear more about it. Keep in touch, Best wishes,

    Ann

    BeastlyBeasties.etsy.com beasties.tumblr.com beastlybeasties.wordpress.com avcalligraphy.com

Leave a Reply

