Another Beastly Book

    Hand bound artist's book. The covers and pages are all sink art paper that I colored. The book is bound by sewing over leather tapes with the link stitch. I hated the bright green leather that I ended up using, as I was not properly organized. As a result I used sandpaper to age the leather and remove the bright green. Originally, I was going to feed the tapes back between the covers through slots. This looked ugly to me, so I left the tapes loose and sewed on some beads. The title is written in calligraphy on brown paper.Hand bound artist’s book. The covers and pages are all sink art paper that I colored. The book is bound by sewing over leather tapes with the link stitch. I hated the bright green leather that I ended up using as I was not properly organized. As a result I used sandpaper to age the leather and remove the bright green. Originally, I was going to feed the tapes back between the covers through slots. This looked ugly to me, so I left the tapes loose and sewed on some beads. The title is written in calligraphy on brown paper.
All the pages of this book have beasties drawn on the sink art paper. Circular cut outs are positioned throughthe pages. This book was recently in the "Booked 6" show at the Pierro Gallery in South Orange, New Jersey.

All the pages of this book have beasties drawn on the sink art paper. Circular cut outs are positioned through out the pages. This book was recently in the "Booked 6" show at the Pierro Gallery in South Orange, New Jersey. See: http://maplewood.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/03/19/reviewing-booked-6-at-the-baird/#more-1699 for a review of the show.

2 responses to “Another Beastly Book

  1. Just wanted to say how much I enjoy your Beastie A Day series on Tumblr. Thanks!

  2. Hello,
    Everything dynamic and very positively! 🙂
    AlexAxe

Leave a Reply

